MacGregor congratulates area districts receiving Competitive School Safety Program grants

Sen. Peter MacGregor

Sen. Peter MacGregor

LANSING, Mich. — State Sen. Peter MacGregor today congratulated area school districts located in the 28th Senate District on being awarded funds from the state’s Competitive School Safety Grant Program.

“Providing safe learning environments is fundamental to protecting our school children,” said MacGregor, R-Rockford. “It is my hope that these grants will go a long way toward improving school security and preparedness to help ensure West Michigan students have safe places to learn.”

Those districts are:

  • Byron Center Public Schools – $568,009
  • Cedar Springs Public Schools – $478,713
  • Comstock Park Public Schools – $187,496

The Legislature dedicated $25 million within the state budget to provide grants to improve the safety and security of school buildings through the purchase of technology and equipment, and through school building safety assessments.

For more information, visit the Michigan State Police’s Grants and Community Service Division website at and click the School Safety link.